The 2017 ISHPES Election has been completed. Congratulations to the new ISHPES Council, which will serve from 2017 through 2021.

The on-line election conducted saw 52 online ballots started and finished during the 2017 ISHPES Election period.

The Election results are as follows:

Annette R. Hofmann (Germany)

--Teresa González Aja (Spain)
--Francois Cleophas (South Africa)
--Heather L. Dichter (USA)
--Russel Field (Canada)
--Gerald R. Gems (USA)
--Susanna Hedenborg (Sweden)
--Keiko Ikeda (Japan)
--Michael Krüger (Germany)
--Mei-Chun Lin (Taiwan)
--Malcolm MacLean (United Kingdom)
--Rudolf Müllner (Austria)
--Tomaž Pavlin (Slovenia)
--Gertrud Pfister (Denmark)
--Pierre-Olaf Schut (France)
--Patricia Vertinsky (Canada)

Early Career Scholar Representatives
--Dario Nardini (Italy)
--Taro Obayashi (Japan)

Additional thanks to Karin Schicklinski (ISHPES assistant) and Sandra Heck (ISHPES General Secretary) for their assistance throughout the process.

Respectfully submitted,
Dr. Scott G. Martyn
Professor of Olympic and Sport History
Faculty of Human Kinetics
University of Windsor


From April 3-6, 2017, the 18th ISHPES Congress was held in Alexandria, Egypt. After Doha, Qatar, this was the second time the annual conference was organized in the Middle East. Scholars from more than twenty countries came to Alexandria to present and discuss their research, establish and maintain networks and enjoy Egyptian culture and hospitality.

The congress started on Monday. While all the lectures were held at the Tolip Hotel, the opening ceremony took place in the modern Alexandria Library. Since the ISHPES Congress coincided with the 75th anniversary of Alexandria University, many people, especially those related to the Faculty of Physical Education for Girls, attended the ceremony.

Two scholars shared the Routledge Early Career Scholar Presentation Award at the 2017 Congress in Alexandria, Egypt. Both Aad Haverkamp, from Radboud University Nijmegen, and Zineb Belmaati Cherkaoui, Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense, received the award, which includes £75 in books from Routledge.

The ISHPES Award is presented to a sport historian who has a particular interest in and has published pioneering work on the general theme of the ISHPES Congress.

The Award for 2017 has been presented to Malcolm MacLean, Reader in the Culture and History of Sport at the University of Gloucestershire in England. Malcolm has degrees in history and anthropology, and for the last 20 years has focussed primarily on sport and cultural relations in colonial and imperial settings, including rugby union in Aotearoa New Zealand and cricket in the British West Indies. Malcolm’s current work projects centre of activist political campaigns in sporting and cultural boycott movements, including both the dynamics of activism and cultural representations of those movements, and in related activity he is exploring the return of South Africa to international sport in the post-apartheid era. He has published widely on these issues. His most recent book is Philosophical Perspectives on Play edited with Wendy Russell and Emily Ryall in 2016, and The Philosophy of Play as Life also with Wendy Russell and Emily Ryall is currently in press. Malcolm is a former Chair of the British Society of Sports History and is a member if the international councils of the New Zealand Studies Association and ISHPES.

Dear ISHPES members,

for 2017 my best wishes to all of you. Besides extending to you my greetings, I would like to take the opportunity to remind all of you to pay your annual dues. Please see our homepage under Membership Renewal.

ISHPES is an international association and has members from many cultures and countries around the world. Although world politics are quite frightening right now, I think our successful academic collaborations, cooperations and friendships will overcome these problems.